Using a laser/HP flashlight as a self-defense tool.

16 replies to this topic

#1 mountainmonkey334

4.99mW Green Laser Toy

• Members
  • 3 posts
  • Have you read the forum rules?:yes

Posted 16 August 2011 - 05:54 AM

Hi, I work as a mobile guard in Norway, and as you may know, Norway is famous for its pacifism. That being said, we have absolutely no tools for self-defense except for kevlar gloves and cuffs, cba wearing a vest. One of the alternatives may be bringing a dog, but thats another story. A bit more background on my situation; Im always alone when on duty, and we have been bothered with several cases of eastern european organized criminals sneaking around at night robbin whatever they can find. They are known to be very desperate about getting away if noticed or caught in the act, if I'm the only thing standing in their way, there is a large chance they will assault. The right thing to do in such a case, is of course to back off immediately, but I fear a day will come when that wont be an alternative, and have therefore been looking at now lasers. Is this an acceptable tool when it comes to defending yourself? What kind of power would be appropriate in this kind of situation? I have been looking at this 1W arctic laser, but I doubt it fits my needs seeing as its extremely powerful (if im not utterly mistaken, I may have read some place that safety glasses are mandatory?). The goal is of course not to hurt anyone, but if its ultimately a matter of life or death I'm not worried about losing my job (obviously).